February 1, 2020

top text

time to embark on whatever this is going to be. because i skipped this in the about’ page, i’ll take the opportunity of this first post to talk about what exactly’s going on here.

anyone who knows me (and therefore everyone who will ever read this) has heard me talk about doing something to this effect. the goal is to get into practice writing things that someone other than me will see. as much as i love keeping a private journal, i think limiting my written audience to myself and my teachers is starting to have a negative impact on my own perception of my work. if the goal is to eventually be paid for my writing, then i really ought to do something about it not being worth very much.

alternatively, this can be a way for me to streamline the what have you been up to” conversations that are a constant part of adult life. here, mom. here, old roommate. here, people i haven’t seen since high school but still try very hard to keep in touch with. look. i made this for you. to that end, most of the content is essentially going to be me doing my homework, only you get the privilege of seeing what that means for me. i’ll be taking readings and stuff from class and putting it up here along with whatever it makes me feel like writing. hopefully i can use this to find a comfortable blend between the way i talk (aggressively casual) and the way i write when i’m writing seriously (convolutedly ostentatious), and in the end y’all can look back on the days when you knew me before i was the king or something.

i’ll also be putting up some review / reflection type things. i’m thinking of calling them meditations as a nod to the aimless stream of consciousness i’ve tended toward when i’ve written this kind of thing for myself in the past, but that name also sounds kind of wack and reminds me too much of descartes. the point is, you can also expect to see me talking about media on here.

in the spirit of summation, here’s everything i plan to post:

  • meditations on books / media
  • stuff about my classwork
  • anything i feel compelled to write about. anything at all

i can’t promise a schedule or anything like that. this is first and foremost a personal project; it’s taking this form so that 1. i can theoretically develop a body of original work to show off, and 2. whoever reads it can hold me accountable. please harass me if i fall off the wagon. i put good money into this site so it better be worth at least a few good sentences.

p.s. i’m really new at web stuff, so even though blot dot im does almost all the work for me, things might be a little wonky until i get my feet under me. if you think something looks ugly or wrong, you know better than me so let me know


Next post
literature, experience, and storytelling this week in my critical theory class we read an essay by walter benjamin entitled “the storyteller”. it serves as a critical examination of how the